Tuition and fees

  • SC4 represents value.

    Get Details

    about

    Financial Aid

    Our in-district tuition and fees are 66% less than the average cost of Michigan four-year public universities.

    Check out our tuition rates and payment options below.

    • 2017-18 Tuition
    • Residents of St. Clair County Community College district:

      • $117 per contact hour
      • $17 technology fee per contact hour

      Residents of the state of Michigan outside the college district:

      • $227 per contact hour
      • $17 technology fee per contact hour

      Residents outside the state of Michigan and international students enrolled through Visas:

      • $330 per contact hour
      • $17 technology fee per contact hour

      Additional fees:

      • Student Fee (non-refundable) of $87 per semester
      • Laboratory, course and program fees as required by course
      • Online fee of $50 per course
      • Nursing program fee of $30 per contact hour
      • HIT program fee of $5 per contact hour
      • Allied health application fee of $25 per application 
      • Other fees may apply
         

        Tuition Calculation Table
        (before lab, student and additional fees)

        Total contact
        hours
        In-district tuition
        and technology
        fee
        Out-district tuition
        and technology
        fee
        1$134$244
        2$268$488
        3$402$732
        4$536$976
        5$670$1,220
        6$804$1,464
        7$938$1,708
        8$1,072$1,952
        9$1,206$2,196
        10$1,340$2,440
        11$1,474$2,684
        12$1,608$2,928
    • 2016-17 Tuition
    • Residents of St. Clair County Community College district:

      • $105 per contact hour
      • $14 technology fee per contact hour

      Residents of the state of Michigan outside the college district:

      • $204 per contact hour
      • $14 technology fee per contact hour

      Residents outside the state of Michigan and international students enrolled through Visas:

      • $298 per contact hour
      • $14 technology fee per contact hour

      Additional fees:

      • Student Fee (non-refundable) of $77 per semester
      • Laboratory, course and program fees as required by course
      • Online fee of $45 per course
      • Nursing program fee of $27 per contact hour
      • Allied health application fee of $25 per application
      • Facility fees as required for classes outside of St. Clair County
      • Other fees may apply
         

        Tuition Calculation Table
        (before lab, student and additional fees)

        Total contact
        hours
        In-district tuition
        and technology
        fee
        Out-district tuition
        and technology
        fee
        1 $119$218
        2 $238$436
        3 $357$654
        4 $476$872
        5 $595$1,090
        6 $714$1,308
        7 $833$1,526
        8 $952$1,744
        9 $1,071$1,962
        10 $1,190$2,180
        11 $1,309$2,398
        12 $1,428$2,616
    • Tuition payment schedule by term
    • Summer 2017
      Feb. 20, 2017 to April 7, 2017 -- No payment required until final due date of April 21, 2017. Partial payments are accepted through April 20, 2017.

      April 8, 2017 to June 30, 2017 -- Payment in full required at time of registration.

      Fall 2017
      April 10 to July 7, 2017 -- No payment required until final due date of July 21, 2017. Partial payments are accepted through July 20, 2017.

      July 8 to Aug. 25, 2017 -- Payment in full required at the time of registration.

      Payment options:
      The college accepts Visa, MasterCard, Discover, check or cash during business hours. Online payments can be made via the WAVE by logging on to the SC4 Portal. To pay by phone, call (810) 989-5513.

      Budget plans for fall, winter and summer are available online with NELNET. You may access NELNET through the WAVE by logging on to the SC4 Portal. Or call (810) 989-5513 for details.  Click here to view complete payment plan information.

      The college reserves the right to remove students from courses for not complying with the tuition payment schedule. A registration restriction will be imposed for students that have been dropped for non-payment twice in the same semester.

  • Residency requirement:
    To qualify for in-district tuition rates, new residents must submit a Residency Change Form and provide proof of in-district residency. This proof can be demonstrated via a valid driver's license, Michigan ID card, or voter registration card. The Residency Change Form and proof of in-district residency must be submitted to the One-stop Student Service Center (first floor, SC4 Welcome Center) prior to the start of the semester in which the student is seeking in-district tuition rates.

    Tuition reduction:
    Residents of the college district 60 years and older qualify for a tuition reduction of 50% on most credit courses (a few special classes are exempt from discounts). This reduction does not apply to any course fees.